On Netflix: Okja (2017) !

After seeing some of my friends recommending this film, I realised I had to watch it as soon as I could.

“Meet Mija, a young girl who risks everything to prevent a powerful, multi-national company from kidnapping her best friend – a massive animal named Okja.” – IMBD page.

Director: Bong Joon-ho (Snowpiercer, The Host, Memories of Murder)
Cinematographer: Darius Khondji (Amour, Seven, Midnight in Paris)
Editor: Yang Jin-mo (Train to Busan)

Cast: Ahn Seo-hyun, Tilda Swinton, Paul Dano, Jake Gyllenhaal

Review:

Honestly, I really like Bong Joon-Ho, so I wasn’t expecting this to be less than good!

From the very beginning we fall in love with the cute super-pig Okja, and her relationship to the lead character Mija. Most of us can relate to relationships with our pets, and it’s heartbreaking to see them having to separate because of greedy capitalist Americans! Throughout the film, Mija shows great courage and girl-power to save her friend from becoming a sausage, with the help up an animal activist group: A.L.F.

What I find very good about this film is that even though it has a serious theme, it had playful dialogue, sweet moments and some action packed sequences.

This film made me laugh.
This film made me cry.
This film made me shout out: OH NOO!

I think it is very relatable in how much love one can have for an animal. And even though Okja is an animated fantasy character, we still learn to love her and her species, and I wish I could go get a super-pig too!

As for casting, I think it was pretty well casted. Often I find English speaking actors in Korean films to be very bad, but this one had big names to it of course, since it’s a Netflix film. Tilda Swinton was a good fit as an evil capitalist, except for the very few words with an english accent slipping through… I’m still not sure if the character was supposed to have been from England or not. Jake Gyllenhaal did alright too. Paul Dano, I think this could’ve been what the Emo kid in Little Miss Sunshine would grow up to be. Seo-Hyun, it’s hard for me to judge performance since I speak very limited Korean, but I felt she did a great job! She is a badass woman! And you could feel her love for Okja, and her willingness to do everything for her. All in all, the casting worked for me.

In addition, I find the soundtrack to build up scenes in a very good way. Some times it is used as contrast from what is seen on the screen, to create a different moods from the actual action we see. Which I think is great when it works, like in this film!

I think all I can say is: Go Watch It! ❤

P.S. there’s a scene after the credits

MonsterRating:

ylwstarylwstarylwstarylwstarylwstar

-CinaMonster-

Leave a Reply

