CineReview: Baby Driver (2017)

“After being coerced into working for a crime boss, a young getaway driver finds himself taking part in a heist doomed to fail.”imbd.com

Director/Writer:
Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, Scott Pilgrim vs The World)
Cinematographer:
Bill Pope (The Jungle Book, The Matrix, Men in Black 3, Scott Pilgrim)
Editor:
Jonathan Amos (Scott Pilgrim, Attack the Block, MI-5),
Paul Machliss (Scott Pilgrim, The World’s End)
Production Design:
Marcus Rowland (Shaun of the Dead, Scott Pilgrim, The World’s End)
Music:
Steven Price (Gravity, Suicide Squad, Fury)
Cast:
Ansel Elgort, Jamie Foxx, Lily James, Kevin Spacy.

I had seen the trailer for Baby Driver a long time ago, and honestly, I didn’t like it very much. I didn’t like the main character, so when I saw people recommending it on my Facebook feed, and saw it got good reviews in newspapers I thought to myself: “I guess… I guess I have to go see it now, blah.. ”

I must say, I’m very glad I went. It was nothing as I expected, and I think the trailer omitted a lot of what I found good about the film. Just the intro had me sucked in. I don’t wanna spoil much of the actual story, but I will talk about some technical stuff that just made this film pretty great!

First of all the music! Wow. I’m not sure I have ever seen a movie where music, sound design and editing fits so well together. If you know of any, let me know! Anyway, what I will say is that Baby (Ansel Elgort), the main character, has a hearing disability and listens to music to drown out his tinnitus. The way his experience is portrayed through music, sound design, editing and cinematography is very, very clever and entertaining! I see why Edgar Wright has used this team of people on several films, they seem to work very well together! I was very amazed by how every gun shot and car or helicopter and foot steps and absolutely every source sound is in beat with or enhance the music experience. The editing I also found very good, and it also worked around the music. The cinematography I enjoyed as well, cause I am a big fan of long takes! If this film is not nominated for any Oscars, something is wrong.

The story, all over, worked, and it had a lot of interesting characters. I think, at a few parts, it is a bit slow, but it was all made up when we got back to the cars and music.

When it comes to casting, I think it was very well casted. I didn’t particularly like the Baby character, he seems a bit arrogant or something haha. Jamie Foxx portrays a crazy man very well, and some dialogue is very fun to watch. Kevin Spacey plays a bad ass leader who seems to have everything under control, and his authority is never questioned. I think this film has a good mix of drama, comedy, action and a little bit of a musical feel?

So..
If you are into good technical stuff, go see it!
If you like crazy people, go see it!
If you like action and car chases, go see it!
If you like good music, go see it!

ylwstarylwstarylwstarylwstarhalfstar2

Trailer:

-CinaMonster-

Leave a Reply

