On Netflix: Naked (2017)

“Nervous about finally getting married a guy is forced to relive the same nerve-wracking hours over and over again until he gets things right on his wedding day.” IMBD

Year: 2017
Genre: Comedy

Director: Michael Tiddes
Ciematography: David Ortkiese
Editor: Lawrence Jordan

Cast: Marlon Wayans, Regina Hall, Neil Brown Jr, Dennis Haysbert, Loretta Devine

Recently, I saw an interview with Marlon Wayans on Jimmy Kimmel about this movie, and therefore, I decided to watch this today! Also, cause I remembered him being a funny dude haha. While researching this film I figured out there was a Swedish film made in 2000 which this film is based on, maybe i’ll watch that too to support my fellow Scandinavians!

The Film:

I didn’t really expect much of this film as it is another one of this ‘re-living the same day over-and-over-and-over again’ films. We’ve all seen plenty of those right? I even saw a trailer for another film (can’t remember the name at the moment) coming out soon with just this kind of storytelling.

As mentioned, this is a story about a guy who wakes up in an elevator on the day of his wedding, and he has to re-live it until he gets everything right. He lives it many, many times. I’ve read people saying it’s just a bad rip-off of ‘Groundhog Day‘, but honestly, there are more films now that you can say the same about (ex. ‘Source Code’, ‘Edge of Tomorrow’), so it’s an irrelevant critique. It isn’t an original storytelling method anymore, and we all know that, so I’m not gonna focus on the fact that this story is being told in this way.

This will be a short review. I’m not sure what to say about this film, because we all can predict it from the way it’s told. Comedies usually doesn’t have much I wanna comment on when it comes to cinematography, editing or production design, so I don’t really wanna get into that.

Yes, the story is a bit unoriginal, but I think it has some funny moments anyway. Rob (Marlon) gets into conflicts with the police, hotel staff, the brides dad and ex (plus more) on his way to figure out how to make this a perfect wedding day . I was entertained the whole way through. I think Marlon is a good comedic actor, and I wanna rewatch ‘White Chicks’ and ‘Scary Movie’ now. Also, I think the other actors make this film an Okay watch. It may not be a film to go to if you wanna laugh your ass off, or feel blown away, but it’s a good watch if you just want some entertainment a late night.

I’m only giving it a 3 because I wasn’t bored and liked the characters.

Rating: 3/6
ylwstarylwstarylwstarwhitestarwhitestarwhitestar

 

 

–CinaMonster–

Leave a Reply

