Sundance Next Fest: Reservoir Dogs (1992)

I randomly came across this event on Facebook: Reservoir Dogs with Quentin Tarantino. IMG_7877Since Tarantino is one of my favourite directors, I obviously decided to go! It is 25 years since this movie was released, and he worked on it at a Sundance director’s lab. At this event he received the Vanguard Leadership Award. He was there to receive it. Tim Roth and Michael Madsen also took the stage, while some of the producers were in the audience also. It was pretty great to experience Tarantino live, I never thought I would have this opportunity, and he seems like a really great guy. Also, it was fun to see some people had actually dressed up as characters from Tarantino films at the event.

The film was shown on 35mm film, which Tarantino prefers so obviously it’s the best for his films to be shown that way. I also like the film grainy look, a totally different feel than digital!


After a simple jewelry heist goes terribly wrong, the surviving criminals begin to suspect that one of them is a police informant. – IMDB

Year: 1992
Genre: Crime
Runtime: 99 Minutes

Director: Quentin Tarantino
Cinematographer: Andrzej Sekula
Editor: Sally Menke

Cast: Tim Roth, Michael Madsen, Harvey Keitel, Steve Buscemi


Even though I am a fan of Tarantino, I actually haven’t seen this film until now. I think i’ve only watched half of it. I love to watch the beginning of someone’s career, and see how they evolve throughout the years, or how they stay the same. Reservoir Dogs is one of Tarantino’s first films, and from the start he uses elements we’ve come to relate to his other works. For instance the parallel timelines/flash backs and the excessive violence and language.

I will admit that I found it hard to keep up with the storylines and names at times, especially in the beginning. I think this is a film you have to watch more than once to get every element. My favourite character was Mr. Blonde, a handsome psychopath with no mercy. And I think their undercover names of Mr. *insert colour here* are a nice way to put some fun in the story between the violence. Particularity the scene where we see how they got their name and Mr. Pink complains about his colour being Pink.

Like with many other Tarantino films, the choice of music is always pretty great and fits the story. Cinematography and editing is good too.

This is not a review, so i’m not gonna rate it. If you like Tarantino, I’m sure you’ve already watched it. If you haven’t, of course you should. If you like violence and blood, you should watch it too! I think I’m gonna re-watch some of Tarantino’s films and write a longer post about him.

–CinaMonster–

Trailer:

 

 

Leave a Reply

